Lots of Comments from Ex-Heller Support Staff

If you don’t read the comments, you should know that several ex-Heller associates and support staff have stopped by and left their comments. While they express concern for our current state they also mention that there is “life after Heller” – and not as a means of schadenfreude.

I think it is important for Heller support staff to understand that there are times when everything, even good things, must come to a close. Have you ever fallen in love with a television series that drags into its 10th+ season ala E.R.? I’d rather remember something as having gone out at its apex.

I don’t mean to trivialize the situation at Heller by using this example – I am a Heller support staff person too. I just don’t dwell on the fact that I should have left sooner – I don’t live a life of regret or “shoulda coulda woulda.”

Right now, like a dying patient, Heller support staff need hospice to help them make a transition. It is scary – especially if you’ve worked at Heller for 10, 20 or even 30 years like some of us. You wonder to yourself:

“Can I actually get a job? A job that I’ll like?”

“Do I want to work for law firms?” (Isn’t that a daily question? LOL)

“Have I had the opportunity to gain new skills? Can I be competitive with other applicants?”

Please feel free to make comments – even if you need to do so anonymously and from home or some other non-Heller location. This is your site.

9 Responses to “Lots of Comments from Ex-Heller Support Staff”


  1. 1 Snowflake 17 September 2008 at 8:31 am

    I loved working at Heller and hated to leave, but walked away last winter from the best law firm I ever worked in (and there have been quite a few on my resume). Rest assured that there are jobs and most definitely life after the Heller experience. All good things come to an end and I think this is the end for HE. You guys will land in exactly the place you’re supposed to. Good luck to all.

  2. 2 hellerdrone 17 September 2008 at 9:30 am

    Thanks Snowflake – I think that we will survive, and it is starting to look like Heller management is preparing for an orderly evacuation . . .

  3. 3 catfish1687 18 September 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hello Hellerer,

    I am sorry to hear about Heller might go down. I had worked for Heller for almost ten years before I had to leave. It was a wonderful place to work for. I missed the professional staff the most. Anyway, no matter what the outcome is to the firm. There’s always light at the end of the tunnel. You’ll find a better job that might say to yourself that why didn’t I leave earlier.

    Catfish1687

  4. 4 Mark Barnes 18 September 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Heller folks,

    As a former Heller employee who was laid off in the early ’90s, let me assure you that if Heller dissolves you will find new employment sooner or later. You are all top notch folks. Heck, if I could find work ANYBODY could! Seriously, if anyone over there who knew me needs a little support and/or martini, don’t hesitate to contact me – I’m just down the street. mwbsf at yahoo dot com or 368-1856.

  5. 5 99larunner 18 September 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I too really enjoyed working for Heller and dissapointed to see what’s happening. There’s a lot of good people who are being impacted by decisions out of their control. Having experienced what you are about to face, you will certainly land on your feet.

  6. 6 marketer 18 September 2008 at 2:57 pm

    When I left Heller, if felt like I walked away from a family. This was right before everything started to slide. I feel so horrible for all of you that are going thru this. Rest assured, for the staff at least, there are nice places to go, they may not be like the Heller of the old days but I have found a new home. There’s a lot of ex-Heller’men here as well so we all cope together. Take care & chin up – there are many firms that appreciate your expertise & skills and you should find something out there. Good luck!

  7. 7 anotherhellersurvivor 18 September 2008 at 8:25 pm

    It’s been a year since Heller unceremoniously kicked me to the curb after more than a decade of devoted service. But I’m still sad to see the old ship go down. Best of luck to you, my former co-workers!

  8. 8 Stunned in SF 18 September 2008 at 10:02 pm

    To all former Hellerites that have written in – thanks so much for the encouragement – we really appreciate it! This site may just be the medicine we need for now, a floating device for the meantime… The hardest part of this, besides not knowing anything, is the many friendships that have been forged while working here and hoping to not loose touch with the ones you care about. There are some really decent people here. I just can’t believe it’s come to this!

  9. 9 Leila 19 September 2008 at 8:26 am

    I was at Heller for 5 years and I made some lasting friendships. I am sorry to see this happening to some really good people, but remember, you are going to be fine. There is life after Heller.


Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

