End of the Day: 10/10/2008

Well kids, I along with a few hundred of my co-workers have been “made redundant” as the Brits say.  I guess, according to the oh-so-personal way of notifying me – via email – that my services are non-essential.  So I will join the rest of you in the unemployment line and filing a wage claim etc.

I will miss Heller Ehrman but I won’t miss the mind games, the sloppiness of its communications or lack thereof in its final days.  I will miss my closest co-workers as well as the ones I’ve been able to meet – virtually – as part of this project.

What will I do now?  I am not sure yet but your old Cruise Director is feeling a life change coming on.  And part of being connnected with oneself is knowing when those changes come and capitalizing on them.  Some have told me that I am a Polly Anna looking a the glass half-full but I don’t have a choice.  I can be bitter or I can be better.  I choose better.

What I won’t stop doing is managing this blog.  There are still crew members on the S.S. Heller Ehrman and my fear is that their fate may be worse than mine or that of others.  They may come in one day and get an email like we did and then have to leave, without a final paycheck or accrued vacation.

Heller Highwater will still be here for all of you – ex-Hellerites and Hellerites.  And for our other readers and we know who you are: those at other law firms in a similar position as Heller Ehrman LLP and those who just want to follow the saga of the S.S. Heller Ehrman.

No recap today – just too much actually.  But I will probably be posting over the weekend if I get info.

For tonight’s entertainment I’m presenting something I’ve been saving.  Let me warn you this is not an easy one.  And I’ll also say that I am not an overly-spiritual person but I am very grounded and centered in my sprituality.  There are times when you just have to let go and let God, Goddess, Buddha, Mohammed, Flying Spaghetti Monster, Ceiling Cat or whatever your preference is.  Please take a look at this film about Hopratio Spafford who lost his son, his business and most of his family yet after all that could see the glass as half full.

On the Lido Deck, with subdued lighting and lots of cocktails with umbrellas is The Innocence Mission with It Is Well With My Soul.

24 Responses to “End of the Day: 10/10/2008”


  1. 1 Yet another ex-Hellerite 10 October 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Best of luck to you Drone.

  2. 2 To Heller And Back 10 October 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Although I was one of the many laid-off staff within the past year, I’ve been reading this blog, monitoring the news, and most importantly keeping in contact with my former Heller colleagues. It’s easy to advise “keep your chin up and move on” but I know there is a grieving process to go through. So, let that phase happen, then look ahead to new life adventures. If you’ve saved your money, take a long sabbatical or retire. If you’ve spent your money, take a short breather, collect unemployment, and make your new full-time job looking for a job. You are not alone, and there and many resources out there. Many of us ex-Hellerians have found even better, higher-paying positions. Don’t be ashamed of having Heller on your resume. Everyone in the legal community knows the scoop. Heller staff are known as quality workers. (Management, not so much.) Also important: be active, not passive. Don’t wait for recruiters to call or for someone to seek you out to offer you a job. Break out of your bubble. I’ve already helped 3 staffers secure new jobs because they networked with me. And I still know of more opportunities … when are you going to touch base?

  3. 3 HellerClerk 10 October 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Wow….

    They actually expect me to come in next week, and I am actually going to do it.

    At least you can get unemployment. Without a termination date, I can’t even get that.

    To say nothing of my 90 hrs accrued vacation time.

  4. 4 Legal Secretary 10 October 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Heller Drone – God bless you and speed you on your way to a better place. (No, I don’t mean the one with the fluffy wings and a harp.) You have been a lifeline here and we are all grateful!

    Thanks also for not abandoning this blog. This place is the best! As I’ve said, it’s been – and will continue to be – a lifeline.

  5. 5 la99runner 10 October 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Ditto Heller And Back! I too was one laid off in the past year. I have many friends who still remain. For me Heller was home amongst family and I would have retired there. I’m here to tell you that HAB is correct, once you go through the grieving process you will land on your feet. Having Heller on your resume is still a positive as you will see. Personally It’s been painful for me to watch as I was part of Heller long before the Phyllis Gardner and VLG debacle.

  6. 6 2005 Legal Escapee 10 October 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Drone,

    You should be proud of the service you provided to many here. Such a blessing people could find a preserver in this sea of crap. I’m not an employee, but my husband is and as such as been invited to “stay” but he’s no fool. :)

    If you are feeling a life change, how about a colonic? It’s crazy, but once I got out of all the “shit attached to shit” it changed my life – I left legal 3 years ago and haven’t regretted it since!

    Come on down, I’ll give you a freebie. :)

  7. 7 Anonymous Contract Attorney 10 October 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Drone, You rock. You seem to have a great attitude about the whole shitty situation and are looking forward rather than back. You are even helping other Hellerers–I’m impressed. Hope to read more once I figure out Google’s free wifi in Mountain View.

  8. 8 SoCalGirl 10 October 2008 at 9:58 pm

    HD – you had to go and make me cry with “It Is Well With My Soul.” I wish you the best of luck and I truly believe things happen for the best. Yes you will be sad. Yes you will be angry. But this too shall pass. At some point, when you are ready, start thinking about what you would really like to do with your life from now on. The possibilities are indeed endless. Ok enough with the deep stuff. Thank you for all you have done for us Hellerites and Ex-Hellerites. And thanks for the nightly entertainment! I particularly loved Cindy und Bert and also Plastic Bertrand.

  9. 9 HellerEscapee 10 October 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Man, I’m glad I was proactive and got out of there at the end of last year. That sounds like a really ugly situation. Speaking from experience, change can be a little scary at first, but it can also be really challenging and rewarding. A lot of it depends on your perspective and what you make of it. Good luck to you Mr. Drone and to all the newly liberated ex-Hellerites out there.

  10. 10 HELLERBILLER 10 October 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I resigned today, effective today, just checked my Heller email (still works) and FINALLY received an email from the dissolution committee that I will be employed after Oct. 10 (8 hours too late). The lack of communication or miscommunication really pissed me off. I had already secured employment and thought I was being a loyal employee by staying on for an extra week and cleaning up. I had already started packing up all the files to send to storage because I didn’t want anyone else to be stuck with it. In 9 days, I had already cranked out 95% of the work, which typically takes a whole month to complete. When I didn’t get the “email” to stay on early this morning, I immediately advised my new firm that I can start on Tuesday. I don’t necessary blame my supervisor for the misunderstanding but when I advised her that today was my last day, she actually got “annoyed” with me. I am not the type to leave work unfinished but now my co-workers in SF are burdened with an extra load all because of the poorly written emails. “They” really screwed things up.

    I worked my ass off today to complete the rest of the work and didn’t get a chance to say all my good-byes and I am deeply saddened by that. To all those in NY that I didn’t get to say “good-bye,” “good-luck” and give a hug to, I will miss you!

  11. 11 HD Sucks 10 October 2008 at 11:44 pm

    HD,

    Please stop “speaking for everyone.” I am part of the everyone that wishes you would shut the hell up and let the due process take effect. We obviously have enough A/R to cover our work, so stop trying to screw all of us.

  12. 12 Mr. Jones 10 October 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I haven’t seen much evidence of “due process” so far – just illegal acts by an immoral committee.

  13. 13 Observer 11 October 2008 at 12:08 am

    “I can be bitter or I can be better. I choose better.”
    Well said, HD

  14. 14 stryder 11 October 2008 at 12:20 am

    Cruise Director

    Please do continue “speaking for everyone.” The person who is “part of everyone that wishes you would shut the hell up and let due process take effect,” is either a member of the misinformation contingent or has nothing better to do other than wish you would go away so he/she doesn’t have to be involved in the long process of achieving the proper and legal outcome for us. The reality is that “due process” is achieved only when action is taken; action is taken through dissemination of information, not by sitting back and waiting for information to come to you (which is what the Dissolution Committee hopes for — hear no evil, see no evil = less output of funds to the minions. I have lost my 2008 raise, my arbitrary holiday bonus and my accrued vacation. That might be ok for HD sucks, but HD sucks does not speak for the majority.

  15. 15 Heller Staff Deserves Better 11 October 2008 at 3:28 am

    I bagged a gig with a local firm for much more money along with a lower billable requirement less than three weeks after leaving Heller. In fact, I was tendered an offer the next day after an interview. One partner I interviewed with asked me whether I was loyal or a fool for staying with Heller until the (almost) bitter end to which I replied “both”. He laughed and the rest of the interview was a breeze.

    The key here is that having Heller on a resume looks good, unless you’re in management.

    Staff: keep your head up and don’t lose faith-you’ll be okay.

    Management/Shareholders: enjoy your conversations with Hilter and Stalin in due time as your reservations in hell have been confirmed.

  16. 16 CafeGirl 11 October 2008 at 10:45 am

    Nickname: HD Sucks (10 October 2008 at 11:44 pm)

    You’re an ass.

  17. 17 abeontech 11 October 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Well, my redundancy (yes i’m a Brit) came about two weeks after the mortgage was accepted!

    Now that’s timing :(

  18. 18 clare 11 October 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Heller Staff Deserves Better–give me a break, comparing shareholders to Hitler and Stalin?? What about the shareholders at the Madison office who wouldn’t take an offer unless their staff had an offer too (I read this on Above the Law; not sure if it’s true but that’s what was said)? No,I’m not a shareholder or an attorney, but someone who knows life isn’t all black and white–

  19. 19 Southern Rings 13 October 2008 at 3:20 am

    Heller Staff Deserves Better: comparing shareholders of a law firm to Hitler and Stalin?? That is totally misguided. You do not deserve better.

  20. 20 hellerdrone 13 October 2008 at 5:46 am

    Dear Southern Rings aka Clare:

    You left this same comment twice. We get it. You also left the same comment over at Above The Law. We get it.

    Perhaps you can come up with something original next time.

  21. 21 another ex-hellerites 13 October 2008 at 10:17 am

    HD Rocks, Give him/her a break. He/She is doing everyone a favor of getting the info out. Yes, as long as you have Heller on your resume. You will not have a problem to land on feet. Good luck to all you.

  22. 22 clare_1 13 October 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Clare and southern rings is not the same person. Southern rings just copied my first sentence for some reason. I may be bored enough to post comments–but not bored enough to post twice under different names.

  23. 23 friendofexhellerite 14 October 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Dearest HD,
    I am not, nor have I ever been Heller. However, my best friend “the wood worker” was, until 10/10. He is devastated.
    Both he and I have benefited from the info and wisdom in this blog. Thanks are not enough.
    Words are not enough to express our appreciation.
    I support him and all of you to take the good with you and “take the high road” in future endeavours.


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on 13 October 2008 at 7:07 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

