This Is It – Today Is The Last Day For Most Of Us

[Note from H.D.: this email was just sent to those Heller staff on the “stay team” or “skeleton crew.”  So for those of us who did not get this, it is assumed we are terminated as of today.  Your Cruise Director will have information on steps to be taken for wage claims, legal action, etc.  Stay tuned.]

It is with a great deal of regret that we write to inform you that we will not be able to pay many of our employees for work performed after today, Friday October 10 and, as a result, that their employment with the firm will be terminated today. We are writing to you to inform you that the banks have approved and the firm intends to employ you beyond this Friday, but we are unable at this time to confirm the end date of your employment beyond then. We do expect that we will be able to continue to pay some people for a longer period of time.

These actions have been forced upon us by the two banks — Citibank and Bank of America — that control our ability to make any payments. Generally, they have refused to pay employees who we cannot convince them are necessary (as they define it) for the wind down efforts. We understand how upsetting this news is. You should continue your activities to serve clients, including, where applicable, to bill your time. Time billing and client service are two of the criteria the banks are examining in our continuing negotiations with them to maintain an orderly transition.

We want to thank you for your professionalism and forbearance to date and ask you to continue to proceed with the same degree of professionalism you have demonstrated during your valuable service to the firm and to its clients.

The Dissolution Committee

10 Responses to “This Is It – Today Is The Last Day For Most Of Us”


  1. 1 MontgomeryStGirl 10 October 2008 at 7:27 am

    Anger
    Upsetting
    Unjustified
    Overwhelming
    Frustration
    Unfair!

  2. 2 Jayne Loughry 10 October 2008 at 10:54 am

    First and foremost, I am so sorry for you all. I truly hate seeing this happen again.

    That said, I want to emphasize the importance of having a “pink slip” in hand before walking away from Heller. The memo posted above is addressed to those who aren’t being terminated. While there’s an inference that, if you didn’t get the memo, you’re being terminated today. That inference is not the same as a piece of paper with your name on it saying you are being terminated today. You may well need such a piece of paper for things such as filing for unemployment, pursuing your WARN compensation, etc. In short, I strongly suggest you don’t leave or stop going to work until you have a pink slip in hand. As lawyers like to say– Get it in writing!

  3. 3 watchingfromtheshore 10 October 2008 at 11:21 am

    I’m not an employee but I have friends who are on staff at Heller.

    I don’t have words…

    I am thinking about all of you.

    Hellerdrone, what a service you have done.

    You’re owed many thanks, kindness and peace.

  4. 4 class action 10 October 2008 at 11:34 am

    I’m not an employee but I’d suggest you contact the Unemployment office while you are still working to find out exactly what you need from the company to get Unemployment benefits.

    The second call should go to an Attorney to file a class action suite against the Firm, Partners and Banks.

    Also, make sure you get and keep copies of all the communication that has been sent to you for evidence.

    Good luck

  5. 5 hellerdrone 10 October 2008 at 11:38 am

    Class Action

    there are various links on this blog for unemployment, wage claims etc.

    I want everyone to hold off on the class action talk until in fact we get formal termination notices. I am not speaking out of my ass when I tell you I have been working on bankruptcy and other counsel. This is what I do when I am not answering your emails or posting. This has to be a coordinated effort and it will be if we all keep the focus and keep coming back here for info.

    This is not an ego thing – it is not about me. And it is not about me making money off this blog – I’ve already said that there is no advertising. I just want us to make sure that when it comes time for Heller management to bend over and grab their ankles, that it be the biggest thing they ever got screwed with – and we all have to be together for that to happen.

    It’s not over and I’m not out, yet
    Heller Drone
    Cruise Director

  6. 6 Yet another ex-Hellerite 10 October 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Drone: has anyone received a termination email yet? All I’ve seen is the one for people that are staying.

  7. 7 hellerdrone 10 October 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I just heard that Librarians just received termination notices. I will post when I get a copy.

  8. 8 News Elf 10 October 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Wait wait, I’m confused…I got an email that says I’m terminated. Is there another one for people who are being kept on? If it explicitly says I’m terminated and today is my last day, am I unemployed as of today? I’m so confused by this!

  9. 9 another ex-hellerites 10 October 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that today is the last day for some of you. I wish you all good luck!

  10. 10 Legal Secretary 10 October 2008 at 5:08 pm

    You know, I got the infamous ’email’ this morning and my instant thought was – I’m terminated. But then a co-worker said that this site had warned that the email actually didn’t say that. When I looked closer, I realized they were right – I am going to have to come in to work on Monday.

    This is unforgivable. If anyone should know the legal and ethical ways by which you terminate an employee, this firm should know. To scare us, unnerve us, prevent us from getting on with their lives is just unforgivable.


Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

