Monday Morning Update

Just checking in since your cruise director has been giving the impression, of late,  that he:

– is being very hands off lately and might just drop this blog

– perhaps has made a safe landing somewhere

– is depressed and sitting in bed waiting for the Schwan’s man to deliver more Microwave Brownies

Actually none of the above are completely accurate althought H.D. does have a thing for the Schwan man and his presents.

Just a few words on recent updates and developments:

– I add items to the News Articles section each day and have been including Thelen-related articles since their situation is so similar to Heller’s

– I update the Job Postings section as well but as of late there have not been many listings arriving in my email inbox

– I am looking for work but to be honest I don’t think I’ll find much until the 1st of 2008 since new budget years will have started and the holidays are always a bad time to try and find work

– I am working on various other web-related projects to keep myself busy and to network my skills

How about you?  Use the comments section to let us know what’s up, if you’ve had a soft or a hard landing, whether you’ve received a check for accrued vacation (as there have been some posted comments over at Above The Law which sound more like rumors), etc.

4 Responses to “Monday Morning Update”


  1. 1 Derner 3 November 2008 at 11:37 am

    Yeah, I’m not even getting replies on the resumes I send out. It’s pretty bleak.

    I have two more to send out today, and then I’m just going look for anything in any industry. There’s a “part-time help wanted” sign at the video store near my house. That’s looking more and more attractive every day. Thirteen years of work experience? Who cares!

    I put together this list of staff recruiting pages from about 150 “top 200” firms. Probably more than half of them have no positions listed. Most of them have offices located in places that Heller had no offices.

    That said, at least it’s something to do. And you know, I always feel better when I convince myself that I’ve done something constructive.

    Take a look:
    http://hellersurvivors.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=jobs&action=display&thread=9

  2. 2 To Heller And Back 3 November 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Derner — Whoa, you are “waiting on replies?” No wonder things are bleak for you. You need to be proactive and contact your resume recipients. Be active, not passive. Go get ’em, don’t wait for them to come for you.

    HD — Thanks for all you do, and for being proactive! Will you ever reveal your secret identity?

  3. 3 Hellboy 3 November 2008 at 5:06 pm

    There’s very little to be proactive about. If you have niche experience, esp. patent/trademark, there’s some hope. Corp. is still in demand and there’s always the option to go in-house. However, hiring for general commercial litigation has all but evaporated. A deep recession is here and it’s just a dreadful time to be unemployed period.

  4. 4 formerIT 4 November 2008 at 2:36 am

    I was in HD and thankfully have landed on my feet at another SF based law firm… Things look bleak for folks and I’m happy to recommend folks to the firm I’m at now… They’ve asked me about people from Heller that have experience in IT and in Conflicts… I’m throwing names and contact info out as much as I can… I received one week of unemployment thus far but am still waiting on vacation pay from Heller.


Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

