Heller Drone’s True Identity Revealed

Update: read more about Heller Highwater and Thelen The Pain at today’s post on LegalPad!

Well folks, after over 60 days of running this site and with many loyal followers and readers pretty keyed-in to my actual identity, your cruise director, Heller Drone has pretty much been outed. This has been mostly my doing and while I have some concerns (not fears – those who know me think I am pretty fearless), I think merging both identities and not running around like Sybil will have quite a few benefits.

Why is H.D. suddenly having his debutante party? Well, for several reasons:

– I’ve been asked to create and temporarily administer a similar blog for the folks at Thelen LLP who are suffering through similar circumstances. The name: Thelen The Pain.   And yes, it does use a medical theme.  I will be running both Heller Highwater and Thelen The Pain simultaneously while I wait for a Thelenian to step forward and either take over or assist with their blog.  Since I am not a Thelen staffer, it would be difficult for me to verify certain information and to adequately communicate that firm’s culture through a blog without at least some assistance from those who worked or used to work at Thelen.

– my first love is writing and over the past two-years I’ve managed to create and maintain at least six blogs.  Some say blogging isn’t writing but I’d gladly debate them on that point.  By coming out and merging ego and alter-ego, I can have my skill set attributed to these blogs and hopefully score some writing gigs while I am on unemployment and looking for work.

So who is he?  Well, here is what I just posted at Thelen The Pain:

My name is Thomas MacEntee and I was a Heller Ehrman employee for over eight years and I’ve been working for global law firms, including Skadden and Latham & Watkins, for over 20 years now.  Besides filling my hours with blogging for Heller staff and now Thelen, I am busy with my own legal technology consulting firm called BigLaw 2.0 as well as my passion in life – genealogy and family history.  You can learn more about me, if you really need to, over at Thomas 2.0.

So there you have it.  I will still post under the moniker Heller Drone and don’t fret, I won’t be abandoning ship – how could I ever leave the great people of the S.S. Heller?  It has been my honor to try and steer Heller Highwater and its followers in the right direction.   I will keep doing so as long as I believe such steering is beneficial to the community of ex-Hellerites as a whole more than it is to me.

Now that I’m out, please feel free to contact me at hellerdrone@wordpress.com or at tmacentee@gmail.com.

4 Responses to “Heller Drone’s True Identity Revealed”


  1. 1 Stiff Upper Lip 17 November 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Heller Drone aka Thomas – Mazel tov on the revelation! You’re terrific whether you write under a nom de plume or under your real name. Best of success on venturing forth with a professional writing career. You’re bound to succeed.

  2. 2 anon2 17 November 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I thought I had figured out who you were….but I forgot about you up there in the Windy City!! Way to go, dood. You’re awesome. Keep up the great work!!

  3. 3 To Heller And Back 18 November 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Some us of knew all along, and kept mum. The clues were there all along: Your writing style, the overflowing Terms Of Service, IT expertise, taste in music videos, etc. …

    Now, HA! Tables turned! You don’t know OUR True Identities!!!

  4. 4 Mr. Jones 20 November 2008 at 10:14 am

    Thomas! I wondered if it was you. Excellent job! You’ve really provided an invaluable service – I check the blog almost every day.

    Before the 10/13 massacre, I wondered how an employee could blog so much without getting caught – but if you’re off on your own in Chicago there’s not much danger of someone looking over your shoulder!

    Again, thanks so much!


Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

