Job Posting: Legal Secretary/Paralegal – San Francisco

San Francisco location of Dallas-based litigation law firm with high-level plaintiffs’ practice is looking for experienced Legal Secretary/Paralegal to join our team. Job requires excellent organization, writing, grammar and communication skills. Experience filing in state and federal courts, and e-filing experience required. Candidate must be proficient in MS Word, type at least 60 wpm (Excel skills a plus), have 5+ yrs litigation experience, as well as the ability to multi-task, meet deadlines and operate well in a fast-paced environment. Experience with class action cases is a plus. Candidate must be billable as a paralegal. Employment will be on a temp to hire basis. For immediate consideration, please fax resume/salary requirements to 214/777-0491. EOE. No phone calls please.

8 Responses to “Job Posting: Legal Secretary/Paralegal – San Francisco”


  1. 1 NotYet 25 November 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Completely unrelated to the topic…

    Before leaving the office for the last time, I set my phone to forward my calls to my cell. Today my cell rang. The caller ID showed it was my Heller phone forwarding.

    Of course, it was a telemarketer trying to get my to pay for an extended warranty on my car (I don’t own a car). These were the same people who continually called my home and managed to get through two weeks after I’d discontinued my phone service.

    It was such an eerie thing to think about. My old office phone still flashing its “Forwarding” message away in the dark for all these weeks. Maybe the phones aren’t even there anymore. Just the system forwarding calls based on settings in some database somewhere.

    I guess it will all be over in three more days.

  2. 2 Heller No More 1 December 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Hi Heller Drone! Thanks for your support over the last several months. I’ve posted a copy of the last letter from Heller to former incoming associates at http://hellernomore.blogspot.com/2008/12/letter-from-heller.html.

    Again, thanks for everything, and best of luck to everyone!

  3. 3 Saliro 1 December 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Any word on the email that went out to some (but not all) former employees on the 29th?

    “Second Status Report from Heller Ehrman Dissolution Committee”

    Based on this report, what is the likelihood that the banks will allow the payment of the mandatory WARN Act severance and accrued vacation?

  4. 4 Pumasdad 2 December 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I just received a letter from the State of California re my claim that I filed for “Warn Act” pay & accrued vacation pay, it seems that my file has been closed and nothing more will be done, since there is a Class Action already filed, so even though I told the attorney responsible for the Class action suit that I did not wish to be a part of it 2 months ago, the State of California Department of Labor will not represent me or any other Hellerite, I spoke to a very nice man at the Commissioner’s office in San Francisco today who informed me that if the “Class Act” gets certified we will then have a chance to Opt out but if we do we will have to start from square one, and remember that if we join the Class Action we will lost 1/3 of any monetary award, this does not seem fair and I intend to check with some of the Heller associates that I know chose not to be a part of the Class Action, also if we lose the Class Act we would be liable for court costs, I am concerned since I understand that the attorney representing the Heller Employees has only three years experiance as an attorney versus the Heller Shareholders (who I believe are responsible for this mess) the best thing is if Heller decides to do the right thing and pay us without going to court, Stay tuned and good luck to us all,

  5. 5 anon2 2 December 2008 at 11:02 pm

    OMG, how can the CA Labor Dept decide things like this!! There must be some attorneys on this site (and not the knucklehead that filed the suit in the first place) that can research this. So now our financial faerwell from Uncle Heller lies in the hands of an incompetent attorney from Minnesota that raced to the courthouse so he could file first. Just effing great. How incompetent Heller was and now this.

  6. 6 Legal Secretary 3 December 2008 at 1:26 am

    Damn! I just got the same brush-off from the Labor Board. They won’t handle my claim because of the class action. This is insane. I am NOT a part of the Class Action – I don’t trust that lawyer, I didn’t ask for him, I never signed up for him – yet the Labor Board is using him as an excuse to shut down my claim. This is insane!

    I can’t say, however, that I’m totally surprised at this slapdown. I waited until after 30 days to file my claim so that I could collect fines and penalties – but when I went up to the woman at the window to submit my form, she informed me that her boss has just sent a memo out to not take any more requests from Heller because Heller ‘had just declared bankruptcy’. (Ergo, the firm no longer existed so there was no one for the Labor Board to go after.) I was devastated. The nice woman, however, took my claim anyway and said she’d try to make her boss take it on. That was on the 18th of Nov. This afternoon I finally got the reply – they’re shutting down the file (I thought it was just for my claim but apparently it’s for everyone) because of the class action and aren’t going to do any more work.

    Frankly, this sounds suspicious as hell. There’s NO reason for the Labor Board to do that. They can still submit forms even if there is a lawsuit. I’m certain that it’s really because they are looking for an excuse not to do anything. They’re either shortstaffed or don’t have the funds or whatever – but this whole thing smacks of an excuse and not a reason.

  7. 7 hellerclerk 3 December 2008 at 11:49 am

    Can we sue the lawyer for muffing this up?

  8. 8 Been there, done that 4 December 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Talk about de ja vu — back in 1994, I had worked for a small firm that had filed for bankruptcy. We loved working for this firm and being faithful employees, we (5 of us) worked without pay for 4 months before we finally wised up and left. We left because although the owner promised us he would pay us back if we hung in there, I found out he filed for liquidation and not reorgnization as he promised he would do. He was starting to do shady things like charge up all the credit cards by buying all new clothes and furniture, then recording UCC filings for the firm’s assets, strange stuff. All the while, not paying us.

    We all all filed claims with the Dept. of Labor, even had hearing dates but then before the hearing we were notified by the Commissioner that the hearings were cancelled and that our claims were being closed, due to the bankruptcy of the defendant. The Dept. of Labor (or DLSE) will not handle any case that is in bankruptcy, dissolution or pending class action. The Commssioner told us to either file civil suit or wait for the release of the bankruptcy.

    We were owed 4 months of back wages, accrued vacation (which was ultimately denied) and penalties. Three years after the closure of the firm, I finally got my back wages and a release form to sign in the mail. No accrued vacation and absolutely no penalties.

    Needless to day, to this day, I do not trust law firms. I’m waiting for the economy to bounce back before I go in-house.


Comments are currently closed.



Life preserver.jpg
Remember the words of Rev. Frank Scott (Gene Hackman in The Poseidon Adventure):

". . . sitting on our butts is not going to help us either. Maybe by climbing out of here, we can save ourselves. If you've got any sense, you'll come along with us."

Contact Us!

Send us your information as to job leads, networking, or just plain vent!
Go ahead, say it!
Add to Technorati Favorites
Bloggers' Rights at EFF

Credits

This blog has been created by Thomas MacEntee.

Recent Comments

Terms of Service

Heller Highwater (hellerdrone.wordpress.com)
Last Modified: September 14, 2008

- Don't be a dill weed.

- Treat other people the way you want to be treated.

- Ladies and children first.

- This is a rescue, not a bitch session.

- Help don't harm.

- Save the snarks for the attorneys and Above The Law.

Heller Highwater is not:

- a place to practice viscious and vindictive "whisper down the lane" rumour-mongering;

- a place to bad mouth co-workers;

- a place for diatribes against specific people or specific incidents;

- a place to heap pity on poor Heller Ehrman staff by outsiders;

- a place that discriminates or sets margins noting who is outside and who is inside - we even welcome supportive Heller Ehrman attorneys!;

- meant to further the demise of Heller Ehrman, LLP.

Heller Highwater is:

- a place for support, a place of empowerment, a place of passion;

- a place to learn about job leads, resume preparation, skill building, training, new opportunities, and how to succeed in a new workplace;

- a place to keep up on the latest news as to how Heller Ehrman management intends to treat its support staff as it winds down its operations - will it be every woman for herself? or will it be "let me hold the door for you and is there anything else I can do for you"?

- a place of refuge.

Note: in no way, shape or form is Heller Highwater sanctioned, supported or even recognized, (but it is very likely monitored) by the management of Heller Erhman, LLP. The opinions represented here and on each and every page of Heller Highwater do not constitute the opinions of Heller Ehrman, LLP or its shareholders or its management. In addition, the comments left by visitors do not reflect the opinions of Heller Highwater.

